Skip to main content

Key Points

  • Thirteen countries recommended for being removed from the EU’s list of countries in which travel restrictions should be applied


On January 17, 2022, the European Council (EC) recommended that travel restrictions on thirteen (13) countries outside the European Union (EU) and the Schengen Area be gradually lifted. Several countries include China (subject to reciprocity confirmation), New Zealand, Canada, and the United Arab Emirates. For a complete list of impacted countries, click here.

What are the Changes?

The EC updated its country list in which travel restrictions were recommended. This decision can influence how EU member states and Schengen-associated countries determine their internal travel restrictions. EC recommendations are not legally binding to EU member states, and some countries may choose not to lift current travel restriction measures.

Looking Ahead

Continue to check the European Council’s website for additional updates and information.

Source: The European Council

Close Menu

Corporate Immigration Partners

Chicago Office
+1 312-722-6300

Cincinnati Office
+1 513-381-2011

San Francisco Office
+1 415-771-7500

Europe, Middle East, and Africa
+44 20 34326564

+86 10 84053554