Skip to main content

Key Points

  • The EU Council recommended that 21 countries and territories be removed from the regional travel restriction list


On November 9, 2021, the European Council (EC) recommended that travel restrictions on 21 countries and territories outside the European Union (EU) and Schengen Area be gradually lifted. For a complete list of impacted countries and territories, click here.

What are the Changes?

The European Council updated the list of countries and territories that have restricted entry. This decision influences how EU member states and specifically Schengen area states determine their internal travel restriction rules. However, the recommendation is not legally binding to EU member states. Depending on the circumstances of each member state, some countries may lift or maintain restrictions on these 21 countries and territories.

Looking Ahead

Continue to check the European Council’s website for the latest updates and additional information concerning travel entrance restrictions and measures based on the Council’s recommendation.

Source: The European Council, Council of the European Union

Close Menu

Corporate Immigration Partners

Chicago Office
+1 312-722-6300

Cincinnati Office
+1 513-381-2011

San Francisco Office
+1 415-771-7500

Europe, Middle East, and Africa
+44 20 34326564

+86 10 84053554