Skip to main content

Key Points

  • Japan published a new list of 71 visa-exempt countries and regions on April 8, 2024


The government of Japan introduced a new list of visa-exempt travelers on April 8, 2024. This list includes 71 countries or regions with varying permitted periods of stay depending on the specific travel exemption agreement.

The updated policy aims to streamline travel and bolster international relations by facilitating easier access for tourists, business professionals, and students from these designated areas. Each country or region’s exemption is tailored to its diplomatic ties with Japan, ensuring a balance between welcoming visitors and maintaining national security. This strategic move is anticipated to boost Japan’s tourism industry, foster economic growth, and enhance cultural exchanges, reflecting Japan’s commitment to global engagement. Additionally, the government has implemented measures to monitor the effects of these exemptions closely, seeking to address any potential issues swiftly. By doing so, Japan hopes to create a more dynamic and interconnected environment that benefits both its citizens and international visitors.

Looking Ahead

Continue to check the government of Japan’s website for the latest updates and information.

Written by: Jessie Butchley, Global Immigration Writer, Envoy Global
Source: Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan

Close Menu

Corporate Immigration Partners

Chicago Office
+1 312-722-6300

Cincinnati Office
+1 513-381-2011

San Francisco Office
+1 415-771-7500

Europe, Middle East, and Africa
+44 20 34326564

+86 10 84053554