Skip to main content
Key Points
  • On January 18, 2021, President Trump signed an order lifting some COVID-19 travel bans
  • The US planned to end COVID-19 travel bans against Brazil, Ireland, the UK, and the Schengen zone on January 26, 2021
  • The incoming Biden Administration intends to reinstate the travel ban
  • Travel bans will also remain in place for China and Iran

The Biden Administration has announced plans to block President Trump’s executive order, scheduled to take effect on January 26, 2021, that would lift travel bans for Brazil, Ireland, the UK, and the Schengen Area.

What are the Changes?

A COVID-19 travel ban that was imposed against the Schengen area in March 2020 is scheduled to be lifted on January 26th, 2021, through President Trump’s executive order. The impacted countries include Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Finland, Greece, Germany, Iceland, Hungary, Latvia, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Malta, Norway, Portugal, Poland, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Spain. Elsewhere in Europe, travel restrictions were planned to be lifted against Ireland and the UK. A COVID-19 travel ban that was issued for Brazil in May 2020 was scheduled to be lifted as well.

Due to ongoing COVID-19 concerns, the Biden Administration intends to keep the travel ban in place.

Looking Ahead

President Biden plans to reimpose the travel ban shortly after taking office due to ongoing global health concerns.

Close Menu

Corporate Immigration Partners

Chicago Office
+1 312-722-6300

Cincinnati Office
+1 513-381-2011

San Francisco Office
+1 415-771-7500

Europe, Middle East, and Africa
+44 20 34326564

+86 10 84053554