Skip to main content

Key Points

  • Vietnam plans to broaden its visa-waiver program and provide longer durations of stay for visitors without visas and those who hold e-visas


The government of Vietnam intends to expand its visa-waiver scheme, along with applying longer durations of stay to visa-free travelers and those holding e-visas.

The government will allow citizens of the following countries to enter Vietnam without a visa for a maximum period of 15 days: Russia, Japan, South Korea, Denmark, Norway, Finland, Sweden, the United Kingdom, France, Spain, Germany, Italy, and Belarus. These measures will apply until March 14, 2025, with the possibility of an extension.

The government made agreements with 12 countries, including Chile, Panama, Cambodia, Indonesia, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, the Philippines, Brunei, and Myanmar, to exempt ordinary passport holders from bilateral visas.

What are the Changes?

Vietnam plans to expand its visa-waiver scheme and offer longer stays for visa-free travelers and e-visa holders. Citizens from 13 countries can enter Vietnam for up to 15 days without a visa. Additionally, 12 countries will exempt ordinary passport holders from bilateral visas in Vietnam.

Looking Ahead

Continue to check the government of Vietnam’s website for the latest updates and information.

Written by: Jessie Butchley, Global Immigration Writer, Envoy Global
Source: Socialist Republic of Vietnam, Government News

Close Menu

Corporate Immigration Partners

Chicago Office
+1 312-722-6300

Cincinnati Office
+1 513-381-2011

San Francisco Office
+1 415-771-7500

Europe, Middle East, and Africa
+44 20 34326564

+86 10 84053554