Skip to main content

Key Points

  • The Japanese government has extended declared states of emergency until September 30, 2021.


On September 22, 2021, the Japanese government announced that previous states of emergency would be extended for Okinawa, Tokyo, Saitama, Chiba, Kanagawa, Osaka, Ibaraki, Tochigi, Gunma, Shizuoka, Kyoto, Hyogo, Fukuoka, Hokkaido, Gifu, Aichi, Mie, Shinga and Hiroshima until September 30, 2021. The Cabinet Secretariat’s office reminds individuals to refrain from unnecessary travel and to avoid crowded places at all times. Businesses are advised to reduce the number of employees commuting to work by 70 percent by implementing work-from-home measures. Employees are advised to avoid working past 8:00 pm unless necessary for the continuation of the business.

What’s Changed?

Previously states of emergency have been extended until at least September 30 in several areas in Japan in order to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

Looking Ahead

Continue to check the government of Japan’s website for additional information and updates.

Sources: The Ministry of Health, Labor and Welfare

Close Menu

Corporate Immigration Partners

Chicago Office
+1 312-722-6300

Cincinnati Office
+1 513-381-2011

San Francisco Office
+1 415-771-7500

Europe, Middle East, and Africa
+44 20 34326564

+86 10 84053554