Skip to main content

Key Points

  • Norwegian citizens and holders of Norwegian national ID cards will be permitted to enter certain countries without presenting a passport


Norway’s government announced that citizens and national ID card holders will still be permitted to travel to Germany, Iceland, Estonia, Turkey, Greece, and Portugal until December 31, 2022. This will apply to all Norwegian ID card holders, regardless of their expired passports. The Norwegian government advises individuals traveling to these countries to do so via direct flights and hold a valid Norwegian ID card for a minimum period of six months from the date of entry into the host country.

What are the Changes?

On July 5, 2022, the government of Norway established temporary arrangements with several countries that will allow Norwegian citizens and those with a Norwegian national ID card to travel and enter select host countries with an expired passport and a Norway national ID. Eligible travelers must return to Norway before December 31, 2022. This decision was in connection with passport issuance delays in Norway.

Looking Ahead

These temporary arrangements will remain in effect until December 31, 2022. Check the government of Norway’s website for the latest updates and information.

Written by: Jessie Butchley, Global Immigration Writer, Envoy Global
Source: Government of Norway

Close Menu

Corporate Immigration Partners

Chicago Office
+1 312-722-6300

Cincinnati Office
+1 513-381-2011

San Francisco Office
+1 415-771-7500

Europe, Middle East, and Africa
+44 20 34326564

+86 10 84053554