Skip to main content

Key Points

  • Extension of border control measures until May 11, 2022
  • Four countries exempt from entry ban beginning November 8, 2021


The Swedish government announced it would continue current border control measures at its internal borders (considered internal to Europe or the Schengen border) for six months due to perceived security threats in Sweden. In addition, the government also announced an amendment to the exemption on the entry ban for residents from the countries of Argentina, Colombia, Namibia, and Peru beginning November 8, 2021.

What’s Changed?

Under these new announcements, border control measures at Sweden’s internal border will continue until May 11, 2022. Under these measures, travelers entering Sweden from a neighboring country may be required to provide proof of the right to enter and stay in the country, in addition to a passport or national ID card.

Sweden placed a travel entry ban on most residents from countries outside of the European Union and European Economic Area, which is in effect until November 31, 2021. However, under this latest update, residents from Argentina, Colombia, Namibia, and Peru will be permitted to enter Sweden beginning November 8, 2021, so long as they can provide proof of a negative COVID-19 test upon entry into the country.

Looking Ahead

Continue to check the Swedish government website for additional updates and information.

Source: Government Offices of Sweden

Close Menu

Corporate Immigration Partners

Chicago Office
+1 312-722-6300

Cincinnati Office
+1 513-381-2011

San Francisco Office
+1 415-771-7500

Europe, Middle East, and Africa
+44 20 34326564

+86 10 84053554