Skip to main content

Key Points

  • Taiwan will reinstate visa-exempt entry schemes for nationals of the United States, Canada, New Zealand, Australia, members of the European Union, and more


The authorities of Taiwan announced that it would reinstate visa-exempt entry schemes for nationals of the United States (US), Canada, New Zealand, Australia, and member states of the European Union (EU), along with several other nations beginning September 12, 2022. Eligible applicants from the countries mentioned above will be permitted to enter Taiwan without a visa for the purpose of business, exhibition visits, fact-finding missions, international exchanges, visiting relatives, tourism, and social events.

Individuals from these countries traveling to Taiwan for purposes outside the list mentioned above should ensure they hold the appropriate entry documents and approval. For additional information on entry requirements and permitted period of stay, check here.

What are the Changes?

On September 5, 2022, the authorities of Taiwan reintroduced visa-exempt entry schemes for foreign nationals from select countries. All arrivals from specified countries will continue to be required to undergo a three-day quarantine period and a four-day self-observation period. These measures will go into effect on September 12, 2022.

Looking Ahead

Continue to check the authorities of Taiwan’s website for the latest updates and information.

Written by: Jessie Butchley, Global Immigration Writer, Envoy Global
Source: Bureau of Consular Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of China (Taiwan)

Close Menu

Corporate Immigration Partners

Chicago Office
+1 312-722-6300

Cincinnati Office
+1 513-381-2011

San Francisco Office
+1 415-771-7500

Europe, Middle East, and Africa
+44 20 34326564

+86 10 84053554