Skip to main content

Key Points

  • Removal of seven countries from the UK Red List
  • Expansion of inbound vaccination policy to 30 more countries and territories


The UK announced it would remove certain countries and territories from its Red Travel List at 4:00 am on November 1, 2021. Specifically, Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Haiti, Panama, Peru, and Venezuela will be removed. Travelers returning to the UK from these locations will no longer be required to enter a hotel quarantine after November 1, 2021.

The UK will also expand the list of countries with acceptable proof of vaccination certificates. A list of approved countries can be found here.

Eligible, fully vaccinated travelers, including those countries and territories listed under the inbound vaccination policy, will no longer be required to take a pre-departure COVID test before arrival; take a post-arrival COVID test on day eight or self-isolate upon arrival.

What’s Changed?

This change will remove seven countries from the Red List and allow more travelers to enter the UK. 30 more countries will also be added to the UK inbound vaccination policy.

What Should Employers and Applicants Know?

More fully vaccinated travelers can soon enter the UK under less strict conditions. Employers sending employees to the UK may now have less constrained timelines around self-isolating and testing, depending on certain factors.

Looking Ahead

The UK government has advised that the Red List will remain in place as a precautionary measure. Continue to check the UK government website for further updates and additional information.

Sources: GOV.UK

Close Menu

Corporate Immigration Partners

Chicago Office
+1 312-722-6300

Cincinnati Office
+1 513-381-2011

San Francisco Office
+1 415-771-7500

Europe, Middle East, and Africa
+44 20 34326564

+86 10 84053554