Skip to main content

Key Points

  • The CDC has added more countries to its evolving list of destinations to avoid for COVID-19
  • The CDC added 16 countries to the list last week and seven more this week
  • Locations with more than 500 cases of COVID-19 per 100,000 residents in the past 28 days are high-risk areas based on CDC travel guidelines
  • All other existing COVID-19 travel bans are still in effect
  • The CDC will update its COVID-19 travel list as needed


The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has added additional countries to its list of destinations to avoid due to COVID-19.

What are the Changes?

Based on CDC travel guidelines, locations that have had more than 500 cases of COVID-19 per 100,000 residents in the past 28 days are considered to be high-risk areas for COVID-19 transmission.

Last week, the CDC designated the following locations as a Level 4 risk due to its COVID-19 health guidelines: Andorra, Curaçao, Gibraltar, Greece, Guadeloupe, Iran, Ireland, Isle of Man, Kazakhstan, Lesotho, Libya, Malta, Martinique, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Martin, and US Virgin Islands.

This week, the CDC added seven additional countries to its Level 4 risk for COVID-19, which are: Aruba, Eswatini, France, French Polynesia, Iceland, Israel, and Thailand.

Looking Ahead

The latest guidance from the CDC follows existing COVID-19 travel bans that are still in effect, including ongoing North American border closures and travel bans to Brazil, India, Iran, China, South Africa, Ireland, the UK, and Schengen area countries The CDC will continue to monitor COVID-19 health conditions and update its list of travel notices accordingly.

Close Menu

Corporate Immigration Partners

Chicago Office
+1 312-722-6300

Cincinnati Office
+1 513-381-2011

San Francisco Office
+1 415-771-7500

Europe, Middle East, and Africa
+44 20 34326564

+86 10 84053554