Skip to main content
Key Points 
  • DOS will implement a tiered system at US embassies and consulates to reduce processing backlogs
  • The tiered system applies to immigrant visa applications
  • Applications will be divided into four categories based on priority
  • Employment-based visas and diversity visas will belong to Tier 4
The US Department of State (DOS) has announced that it will begin using a tiered system at US embassies and consulates to reduce immigrant visa application backlogs.
What are the Changes? 
DOS will divide applications into four tiers based on priority.
Tier One: Certain Special Immigrant Visas, immediate relative intercountry adoption visas, and age-out cases, which are cases where applicants face disqualification based on their age.
Tier Two: Immediate relative visas, fiancé visas, and returning resident visas
Tier Three: Family preference immigrant visas and SE Special Immigrant Visas for certain US government employees located abroad.
Tier Four: All other remaining immigrant visas, including diversity and employment-based visas
Looking Ahead 
Updates will be provided as available.
Close Menu

Corporate Immigration Partners

Chicago Office
+1 312-722-6300

Cincinnati Office
+1 513-381-2011

San Francisco Office
+1 415-771-7500

Europe, Middle East, and Africa
+44 20 34326564

+86 10 84053554