Skip to main content
Key Points
  • On January 26, 2021, President Biden will implement a COVID-19 travel ban impacting travelers from Brazil, Ireland, the UK, South Africa, and the Schengen Area countries
  • Most travelers who were physically present in the affected areas in the past 14 days are restricted from entering the US
  • The suspension on entry applies to immigrants, nonimmigrants, and noncitizens of the US
  • Certain exceptions apply to the entry ban

President Biden has issued a Presidential Proclamation, scheduled to take effect on January 26, 2021, which bans entry into the US for travelers from Brazil, Ireland, the UK, South Africa, and the Schengen Area.

What are the Changes?

A COVID-19 travel ban that was imposed against certain countries in March 2020 was scheduled to be lifted on January 26th, 2021. Due to ongoing COVID-19 concerns, the Biden Administration intends to keep the travel ban in place. The impacted countries in the Schengen area include Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Finland, Greece, Germany, Iceland, Hungary, Latvia, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Malta, Norway, Portugal, Poland, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Spain.

Elsewhere in Europe, travel restrictions were planned to be lifted against Ireland and the UK. A COVID-19 travel ban that was issued for Brazil in May 2020 was scheduled to be lifted as well. The Biden administration has opted to maintain these travel restrictions.

South Africa has also been added to the list of countries subject to the travel ban.

The Biden Administration has also indicated that it will keep all other COVID-related travel restrictions in place, including restrictions on China and Iran.

Close Menu

Corporate Immigration Partners

Chicago Office
+1 312-722-6300

Cincinnati Office
+1 513-381-2011

San Francisco Office
+1 415-771-7500

Europe, Middle East, and Africa
+44 20 34326564

+86 10 84053554