Skip to main content

Key Points

Yesterday, the Department of State (DOS) issued a final rule that exempts some immigrant visa applicants from paying visa fees if their visas were denied under one of two travel bans issued by President Trump. The rule is published in the Federal Register.


The final rule allows individuals who were denied an immigrant visa on or between December 8, 2017, and January 19, 2020, to reapply for their visa without paying any of the original application fees if their application was denied because they were barred from entering the US under presidential proclamations 9645 and 9983. Both presidential orders denied entry into the US for individuals originating in multiple African and Muslim-majority countries and Venezuela.

Application fees will be waived for applicants only if a consular officer previously determined that their visa was denied solely because of presidential proclamations 9983 or 9645. Applicants whose visas were rejected for other reasons while the entry bans were in effect must still pay all applicable application fees.

Looking Ahead

The final rule is effective immediately following its publication.

Source: Federal Register

Close Menu

Corporate Immigration Partners

Chicago Office
+1 312-722-6300

Cincinnati Office
+1 513-381-2011

San Francisco Office
+1 415-771-7500

Europe, Middle East, and Africa
+44 20 34326564

+86 10 84053554